MaxCoderz

for your 1 bit pleasure!

All times are UTC




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 79 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: Using Greyscale for APPs
PostPosted: Wed 15 Feb, 2006 5:13 pm 
Offline
Extreme Poster
User avatar

Joined: Mon 23 Jan, 2006 10:09 pm
Posts: 455
Location: In front of a Computer, coding
I was just wondering (based on the description in the downloads page) if it is possible to use this package to make an APP? It seems like it would be really usefull for my Pokemon Project. However, I only saw downloads for Ion games, which I don't believe is possible in an APP. Thanks!

_________________
I'm not mad, just a little crazy.

DarkNova - a little side project I run.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed 15 Feb, 2006 9:03 pm 
Offline
Calc King

Joined: Sun 27 Mar, 2005 4:06 am
Posts: 2195
Location: sleeping
It's a bunch of include files and can be used in any assembly program or application.

_________________
Image


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed 15 Feb, 2006 10:14 pm 
Offline
Calc Wizard
User avatar

Joined: Tue 05 Jul, 2005 11:28 pm
Posts: 549
I tried to email him about including it as a built-in lib in DCS6, but he never responded. Any ideas?

_________________
Image Image Image


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed 15 Feb, 2006 10:22 pm 
Offline
Calc King

Joined: Sun 27 Mar, 2005 4:06 am
Posts: 2195
Location: sleeping
I was thinking that it should be included in a shell too.

_________________
Image


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu 16 Feb, 2006 12:52 am 
Offline
Calc Guru

Joined: Thu 27 Oct, 2005 8:28 pm
Posts: 962
use API's / Jim e's RGP greyscale package? Still can't get it to work because I can no longer assemble.

_________________
Image Image Image


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu 16 Feb, 2006 3:51 pm 
Offline
Calc Wizard
User avatar

Joined: Tue 05 Jul, 2005 11:28 pm
Posts: 549
I'll talk to JimE then. Sounds like a plan.

_________________
Image Image Image


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu 16 Feb, 2006 9:19 pm 
Offline
Extreme Poster
User avatar

Joined: Mon 23 Jan, 2006 10:09 pm
Posts: 455
Location: In front of a Computer, coding
OK, thanks. The reason I asked was because it said something about using it to make ION programs, so I thought it was limeted to only those. I might take a look, depending on if the other engine i'm considering flops or not.

-gamefreak

_________________
I'm not mad, just a little crazy.

DarkNova - a little side project I run.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu 16 Feb, 2006 10:14 pm 
Offline
Calc King
User avatar

Joined: Sun 23 Jan, 2005 12:37 am
Posts: 1727
Location: Netherlands
You can't use Duck's gpp in an app without modifications. It uses self modifying code. I'm not sure about Jim's, but I guess it's pretty much the same. You'd have to rewrite a few parts to take out the smc, everything else is okay.

_________________
http://clap.timendus.com/ - The Calculator Link Alternative Protocol
http://api.timendus.com/ - Make your life easier, leave the coding to the API
http://vera.timendus.com/ - The calc lover's OS


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri 17 Feb, 2006 6:50 am 
Offline
Maxcoderz Staff
User avatar

Joined: Thu 16 Dec, 2004 10:06 pm
Posts: 4094
Location: I cant seem to get out of this cryogenic chamber!
Yeah, both Duck's and Jim e's grayscale packages use smc, so the only way to run them from an APP would be to copy the grayscale routine to a saferam area and run it from there (if you can afford to).

I think that Jim e has an SE only grayscale routine that doesnt use any smc.

_________________
"My world is Black & White. But if I blink fast enough, I see it in Grayscale."
Image
Image


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri 17 Feb, 2006 3:20 pm 
Offline
Calc Wizard
User avatar

Joined: Tue 05 Jul, 2005 11:28 pm
Posts: 549
It wouldn't be that hard to eliminate the smc; I could even just keep it within the app, using some random saferam for the few opcodes that are smc.

_________________
Image Image Image


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri 17 Feb, 2006 4:25 pm 
Offline
Maxcoderz Staff
User avatar

Joined: Thu 16 Dec, 2004 10:06 pm
Posts: 4094
Location: I cant seem to get out of this cryogenic chamber!
Smc is used to rotate the masks, it is also in a very speed crucial area. I dont think that copying to 'few opcodes' to a saferam area would be a good idea. An idea would be to copy the grayscale display routine to saferam and run it from there. It is a very simple task, you just have to make sure that NOTHING touches that saferam area.

_________________
"My world is Black & White. But if I blink fast enough, I see it in Grayscale."
Image
Image


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri 17 Feb, 2006 5:05 pm 
Offline
Extreme Poster
User avatar

Joined: Mon 23 Jan, 2006 10:09 pm
Posts: 455
Location: In front of a Computer, coding
Sounds goos to me. (1) Where can I get the package, and (2) How on earth do I go about copying code to saferam? I mean, wouldn't that mess up any labels and such?

_________________
I'm not mad, just a little crazy.

DarkNova - a little side project I run.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri 17 Feb, 2006 7:39 pm 
Offline
Calc Wizard
User avatar

Joined: Tue 05 Jul, 2005 11:28 pm
Posts: 549
1. Not sure - I'd like to know this to. JFGI didn't work.
2. You have to modify it to make labels relative to the beginning of saferam areas in use. For me, I'd have to let programmers know that using the grayscale libs would make certain saferam areas unusable.

_________________
Image Image Image


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri 17 Feb, 2006 9:24 pm 
Offline
Calc Wizard

Joined: Wed 22 Dec, 2004 5:37 am
Posts: 680
Location: West Palm Beach,FL
Quote:
Where can I get the package?

Hmm...why don't you do a search on ticalc.org?

_________________
Blog, programming, life, yep
Free Ipod w/ video playback!


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri 17 Feb, 2006 9:40 pm 
Offline
Extreme Poster
User avatar

Joined: Mon 23 Jan, 2006 10:09 pm
Posts: 455
Location: In front of a Computer, coding
Or get it from the front page. That works too. I kicked myself when I saw it.

I still have concerns. It says something to the effect that you have to use it to develop ION games. Why is this so?

_________________
I'm not mad, just a little crazy.

DarkNova - a little side project I run.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 79 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6  Next

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB ® Forum Software © phpBB Group | DVGFX2 by: Matt