MaxCoderz

for your 1 bit pleasure!

All times are UTC




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Wont work
PostPosted: Sat 26 Mar, 2005 7:39 am 
Offline
New Member

Joined: Sat 26 Mar, 2005 7:35 am
Posts: 2
I have a TI-84+ Silver Edition with Mirage OS v1.2 installed.

Prior to installing TVF I reset the RAM and Garbage collected. After putting on the actual game and chapter 1 I went to access the game. At first it said that it couldn't find the map in the RAM, so I unarchived the chapter 1 file. Now when I go to TVF on Mirage OS the screen flashes white then goes back to Mirage OS.

Also, I have OS V2.30 installed on my calc, so it isn't an OS problem.

Perhaps it's not compatible with TI-84+ SE? Or is there something else that I can do to get the game to work?

I've reset my RAM twice and garbage collected twice just to make sure but it didn't work.

Help, please.

-ClydeFrog


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat 26 Mar, 2005 8:26 am 
Offline
Sir Posts-A-Lot

Joined: Mon 21 Feb, 2005 5:34 am
Posts: 252
Location: Laveen, Arizona
Most likely, you don't have enough RAM. Although you may have reset the RAM 2 times, archived programs (or any archived variable) take up ~12 bytes of RAM each. Multiply the # of archived variables you have by ~12 and that's how much RAM is being "wasted." Try and delete as many archived variables as you can (an archive vars reset will do too).

If that doesn't work, then I don't know (I haven't played TVF yet :( )

edit: It appears that archived programs take 8 bytes of RAM each??? :?:
edit: I figured it out: it's 7 bytes + # of characters in the program name :)

_________________
"If SOURCE is outlawed, only outlaws will have SOURCE."


Last edited by Gambit on Sat 26 Mar, 2005 8:55 am, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat 26 Mar, 2005 8:43 am 
Offline
Maxcoderz Staff

Joined: Fri 17 Dec, 2004 5:33 pm
Posts: 790
Location: On the dark side of the moon.
Yeah you really need an extreme amount of free memory to play, you need the bytes in RAM that archived programs take.

_________________
"They say that sea was created by a man named Maarten Zwartbol, a long time ago...." - Duck, an old Corbin version


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat 26 Mar, 2005 8:56 am 
Offline
New Member

Joined: Sat 26 Mar, 2005 7:35 am
Posts: 2
I cleared my archived variables (after backing up all of my games, lol) and I got it to work. This game is awesome!

Thanks!

Edit: This game reminds me of Golden Sun, the best Game Boy Advanced game in existance. 8)

-ClydeFrog


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat 26 Mar, 2005 4:22 pm 
Offline
Maxcoderz Staff
User avatar

Joined: Wed 15 Dec, 2004 7:26 pm
Posts: 2735
Location: The Hague, Netherlands
ClydeFrog wrote:
Edit: This game reminds me of Golden Sun, the best Game Boy Advanced game in existance. 8)
I remember that Kozak used to play that game too... though it's a lot of different imho

_________________
Image


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB ® Forum Software © phpBB Group | DVGFX2 by: Matt