MaxCoderz

for your 1 bit pleasure!

All times are UTC




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 22 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2
Author Message
PostPosted: Sun 30 Nov, 2008 10:50 pm 
Offline
Regular Member
User avatar

Joined: Sun 09 Sep, 2007 8:50 pm
Posts: 124
Location: The dark side of the moon
You could always try to find a usb cable on EBAY, you'll just have to make sure the seller will ship overseas(not sure how much shipping would cost either ). :(

_________________
Projects:
Projects:TBA-Soonish. :)
Updated 5/3/12


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sun 30 Nov, 2008 11:29 pm 
Offline
Maxcoderz Staff
User avatar

Joined: Thu 16 Dec, 2004 10:06 pm
Posts: 3064
Location: Croydon, England
eBay seems to be the only option, aye. Even then they usually ship from the USA, adding a hefty P&P charge. :(

I found out why TiLP couldn't see my serial cable, though - hard coded COM port base addresses. I opened the libticables2-1.dll and replaced all instances of 0x000002F8 (legacy COM2) with 0x0000CCD0 (my actual COM2) and the BBC BASIC app installed first time. I'm not going to tempt fate and try again for a while, but at the moment I'm cheerful. :mrgreen:


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Mon 01 Dec, 2008 12:33 am 
Offline
Regular Member
User avatar

Joined: Sun 09 Sep, 2007 8:50 pm
Posts: 124
Location: The dark side of the moon
That's still more luck than I've had(with TILP). I can't ever seem to get it to work right. I have an old parallel cable (gray) and a black one and I can't seem to get either of them to work with TILP (or anyhing else for that matter). The problem is TIconnect doesn't like alot of older programs and it likes to crash and give an invalid file error. I tried to use alternative linking programs, but none of the alternatives seem to like my old parallel cables. Either that or the com port on my laptop is borked. XD

_________________
Projects:
Projects:TBA-Soonish. :)
Updated 5/3/12


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Mon 01 Dec, 2008 1:43 am 
Offline
Maxcoderz Staff
User avatar

Joined: Thu 16 Dec, 2004 10:06 pm
Posts: 3064
Location: Croydon, England
If the cable does not work try taking two pieces of wire and bypassing the two resistors (so parallel port pin 13 goes directly to the tip and pin 12 goes directly to the the ring - no resistors between the link port and the TI).

I cannot accept any responsibility for damaged calculators or parallel ports, of course, but my cable contains no resistors and "works" with TiLP. With the resistors in place it the parallel port cannot hold the calculator's data lines low. I also had to patch the TiLP binaries to work with my parallel port's base address (0x0000CCD8 instead of 0x00000378).

I tried TI Connect on two other machines (one running Windows XP and the other running Windows 2000) to see if it was one of those fabled "Vista bugs". Same result on those machines; the software detects a cable on the COM port then hangs. The same cable works beautifully with FastLink and (after patching) with TiLP.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Mon 01 Dec, 2008 2:24 am 
Offline
Maxcoderz Staff
User avatar

Joined: Wed 15 Dec, 2004 6:06 am
Posts: 579
Location: Chicago!
Tried "Userport" yet?

_________________
You know your hexadecimal output routine is broken when it displays the character 'G'.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Mon 01 Dec, 2008 2:45 am 
Offline
Maxcoderz Staff
User avatar

Joined: Thu 16 Dec, 2004 10:06 pm
Posts: 3064
Location: Croydon, England
There are a number of means of accessing I/O ports directly under NT (even the old TI-GRAPHLINK software uses a proper driver to access the ports instead of trying to access them directly). PortTalk.sys (AllowIO) was the one I was aware of. The usual problem these days are hard-coded port addresses. If the software uses an external DLL to access the port you can sometimes write your own DLL that redirects port writes but this doesn't always help.

As accessing the port requires the installation of a kernel-mode driver you must run the application with administrative privileges, of course.

TiLP's problem is not access to the port - it can do that fine - it's that it uses hard-coded legacy port addresses. These are usually only available if your motherboard has the ports built-in or you use an ISA card. PCI cards will get assigned whichever port address Windows thinks is appropriate.

That said, even Microsoft Virtual PC doesn't support parallel ports at any other address than the legacy 0x378, even though it used to when it was Connectix Virtual PC.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Wed 06 May, 2009 3:27 am 
Offline
Regular Member
User avatar

Joined: Sun 12 Oct, 2008 1:42 am
Posts: 137
Location: Boise, Idaho
Hm... I've never had a problem with sending Apps to my 84+. However, TiLP fails every time when sending a picture. Is there any way to send pictures to the calculator with TiLP, or does it just not support that feature?

_________________
ImageImage
ImageImage
Image


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 22 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB ® Forum Software © phpBB Group | DVGFX2 by: Matt