MaxCoderz

for your 1 bit pleasure!

All times are UTC




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 8 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Wed 19 Sep, 2007 10:24 pm 
Offline
New Member
User avatar

Joined: Mon 26 Feb, 2007 9:19 pm
Posts: 29
One of my good friends (Curious Onlooker on OTBP) messed up his calculator (I have it in my possession now, so that I can attempt to fix it).

When you turn the calculator on, immediately a RAM clear message is displayed, and the calculator turns off. However, you hold down the on button, the calculator does not turn off.

He says that he has tried everything (taking out back up battery, ON+Del with or without the batteries in, etc), and now referred to me.

Please give me some advise / help!

Thanks!


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Wed 19 Sep, 2007 10:29 pm 
Offline
Regular Member
User avatar

Joined: Wed 11 Jul, 2007 10:42 pm
Posts: 133
Location: Behind You
b-flat wrote:
ON+Del with or without the batteries in
What do you mean, without the batteries? Instead of ON+Delete, just hold down delete, remove a battery, then re-insert it (all while holding Delete). This should bring up "Waiting for TI-OS" or somthing like that. Now send an OS from your computer or another calculator.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Wed 19 Sep, 2007 10:31 pm 
Offline
New Member
User avatar

Joined: Mon 26 Feb, 2007 9:19 pm
Posts: 29
JoostinOnline wrote:
b-flat wrote:
ON+Del with or without the batteries in
What do you mean, without the batteries? Instead of ON+Delete, just hold down delete, remove a battery, then re-insert it (all while holding Delete). This should bring up "Waiting for TI-OS" or somthing like that. Now send an OS from your computer or another calculator.


OK, thanks.

I thought that he had tried that, but he evidently didn't. I'm just going by what he told me.

I don't know if the problem will be solved by resending the OS, but at least the screen comes up.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed 19 Sep, 2007 11:50 pm 
Offline
Calc King
User avatar

Joined: Sat 18 Dec, 2004 6:46 am
Posts: 2932
It should, you might want to email the maker of the oncalc assembler. Make sure include if he had any hooks installed (noshell xlib omnicalc etc..).


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu 20 Sep, 2007 5:17 am 
Offline
Calc King
User avatar

Joined: Mon 20 Dec, 2004 6:47 pm
Posts: 2286
Location: Quebec (Canada)
Else remove a battery, then put it while pressing ON+Clear instead. THis will hide all archived programs from the calcs, then you must reset the entire memory (Ram and archive)

_________________
ImageImage
Bandcamp|FB|Youtube|Twitter


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu 20 Sep, 2007 1:16 pm 
Offline
Regular Member
User avatar

Joined: Wed 18 Oct, 2006 7:34 pm
Posts: 112
Location: The ex-planet Pluto
kalan_vod wrote:
It should, you might want to email the maker of the oncalc assembler. Make sure include if he had any hooks installed (noshell xlib omnicalc etc..).


What do I have to do with anything? :? Other than something like this happened to my first calc and I didn't know about the Del trick... :P

_________________
~calc84maniac has spoken.

Projects:
F-Zero 83+
Project M (Super Mario for 83+)


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu 20 Sep, 2007 3:25 pm 
Offline
Calc King
User avatar

Joined: Sat 18 Dec, 2004 6:46 am
Posts: 2932
calc84maniac wrote:
kalan_vod wrote:
It should, you might want to email the maker of the oncalc assembler. Make sure include if he had any hooks installed (noshell xlib omnicalc etc..).


What do I have to do with anything? :? Other than something like this happened to my first calc and I didn't know about the Del trick... :P

It may not be your fault, just wanted to send him in a direction or two.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu 20 Sep, 2007 8:37 pm 
Offline
New Member
User avatar

Joined: Mon 26 Feb, 2007 9:19 pm
Posts: 29
Well, actually, OTBP assembler WAS related in the event, though everything is fine now.

The best that I can remember:
* was assembling a very simple program to simply display "RAM Cleared" (nothing special; homescreen only)
* there was an error at the very end of assembling (i.e. when one of the ASM routines was copying the code to a program), so he used GrpTool to try and get a new version of OTBP assembler, from the group.
* everything was messed up while using group tool (garbage, etc, was displayed)

I can't quite remember exactly when, but at some point, he used Omnicalc's RAM recovery feature and then, after all of this, at some point, the error occurred.

I'll post it in a more detailed fashion once I get more specific info.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 8 posts ] 

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 6 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB ® Forum Software © phpBB Group | DVGFX2 by: Matt